New York Rangers NHL

10 greatest New York Rangers in franchise history

New York Rangers

Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images

Many people believe Mark Messier is the greatest player in New York Rangers history. He’s certainly in that discussion. Messier is most famous for his guarantee during the 1994 Stanley Cup Playoffs. The Rangers captain guaranteed a Game 6 win against the New Jersey Devils in the Eastern Conference Final. Not only did they win Game 6, they went on win Game 7 and the Stanley Cup as well.

Messier’s legacy is that of a champion. He’s the first player in NHL history to captain two different teams to Stanley Cup titles. Messier served as the Rangers captain from 1991 to 1997 and from 2000 to 2004. His 691 points rank fifth in franchise history and his 0.99 points per game ratio ranks eighth.

Related Story: 1980’s NHL All-Decade Team

Additionally, Messier ranks seventh in franchise history in goals (250) and sixth in assists (441). He won the Hart Trophy and Pearson Award in 1991-92. During that season, Messier got his only All-Star appearance with the New York Rangers as well.

In 2007, he was named to the Hockey Hall of Fame. His number 11 was retired by the Rangers in January of 2006. Messier has won various other awards as well, including the Lester Patrick Award (2009), John Halligan Good Guy Award (1992), Players’ Player Award (1996), Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award (1995 and 1996), and Rangers MVP (1992, 1995, and 1996).

Next: 1. Brian Leetch

shrsl_ShareASale_liveWid_Init(33535, 2145626, ‘shrsl_ShareASale_liveWid_product12_populate’);

Welcome to GameDay.Blog Powered by Please register to our site, As more States become Available for Online Gambling, We will automatically upgrade your status from Subscriber to Player. Please note we are not affilliated in any way with ESPN, CBS Sports, Home depot or CitiBank GameDay Programs.